top of page

Goodbye Doesn't Mean Forever

When you work with determination, giving it all you've got, and the project doesn't turn out quite the way you'd planned, this doesn't mean you've failed. When you are not successful, you simply must try again until you reach your goal. But when you try again, you can't do the task the same way and anticipate different results. After all, that's the definition of insanity.

What does "doing it differently" mean? Sounds easy enough. Don't do it the same way, but still move forward. That sounds a bit more taxing. Here's an example. Let's say you're searching for employment but don't feel good about yourself. You're out of shape and it shows. You've lost all the luster you used to have for your hair when you were younger and perfume or cologne is reserved for dates if you even have fragrance anymore. It's a proven fact that exercise stimulates portions of your body that not only cause you to look confident, but to feel better about yourself. Come on, you've seen a heavy person reek of confidence before and people respond in a positive way. Look at Melissa McCarthy. She uses humor to bring attention to her personality, and she's a success. Do you think growing up she was always so cheerful? I doubt it.

The point is that unless you fail at something you'll continue repeating the same process. Failure is important to understand. Take my Kickstarter program. I learned a lot from that incident. I learned that the overall amount I was asking scared people away. Instead of reflecting on what they could offer they looked at the big picture and didn't think it was an amount I could attract. On that note, they hightailed it off the grid. There were some donations, and even one who donated $5 told me he was in a hard spot himself but continued to believe in me. I've had three people come straight out and ask if they could proof the book for me, meaning they are interested in the material. With the book on one side of the scale and the amount I was asking for, they didn't seem to correspond for the audience and the account failed.

What did I learn? I learned that people will subconsciously search for a reason their investment will fail. If they find it, they will use it as an excuse not to participate. With mine, it was easy to spot. Next time, I'm not going to make it so easy.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page